A Looker Space requires a user to have the View access level to see it, and the Manage Access, Edit: access level to change its contents. Your Looker admin may have given you the permission and Space access level needed to organize your personal Space and possibly one or more other Space(s).
Be careful when organizing Spaces, as the changes will affect all users who have access to the Space. This can even be an issue for your personal Space if other users are accessing Looks and dashboards in your Space.
Viewing and Managing Access for a Space
Space Access Levels
View: With this access level, a user can see that the Space exists and be able to see the Looks and dashboards inside it.
Manage Access, Edit: This access level lets a user do everything that the View access level does, plus make changes to the Space, such as:
- Editing Looks and editing dashboards in the Space
- Specifying which users and groups of users can view or manage the Space.
- Creating subspaces
- Renaming, moving, and deleting a Space
- Copying and Moving Looks and Dashboards
- Deleting and Renaming Looks and Dashboards
Viewing Access Levels for a Space
To see the current access levels for a Space:
- Navigate to the Space. In the upper right, Looker displays a gear. You may also see a New button, depending on the permissions your Looker admin gave you and your access level for the current Space.
Click the gear icon and choose the Manage Access option:
If you are not allowed to change access levels, Looker displays the access levels like this:
If you are allowed to change access levels, the screen will appear as shown in the Managing Access Levels for a Space section below.
Managing Access Levels for a Space
You need both a permission from your Looker admin and the Manage Access, Edit access level for a Space to manage that Space. This gives you the ability to edit the name of a Space, create subspaces, and specify which other users can view or manage the Space.
Navigate to the Space and view its access levels. If there is an Add group or user field then you can manage the Space:
If the Space is a subspace of another Space, Looker shows whether this Space currently inherits its access level settings from its parent. Choose whether the Space should:
- Inherit its access level settings from its parent Space.
- Have a custom list of users and groups.
If you chose to have a custom list of users and groups, you can:
Change the access level for a group or user by clicking their current access level and choosing the desired access level. You cannot change the ability of Looker admins to manage the Space:
Remove the access level from a group or user by clicking the X beside the name.
Add one or more groups or users, by clicking the "Add group or user" field, choosing a group or user, then selecting the desired access level:
Creating a Space
You can create a new Space within the Shared Space or your personal Space.
To create a new Space, first navigate to the Space that you want to contain it. In other words, if you want a new Space within the Shared Space, first navigate to that Space. Or, if you want a new Space inside the "Marketing" Space, make sure you're in "Marketing".
Once you have navigated to the Space:
- Click the New button in the upper right.
- Select the Space option. (To create a Dashboard from the New button, see this page.)
- In the Create Space dialog, enter a name for the Space.
- Click Create Space.
By default, a Space inherits the Space access levels of its parent.
Re-naming, Moving, and Deleting a Space
Subspaces within Shared or your personal Space can be re-named, moved, and deleted. The top-level Spaces such as Shared or your top-level personal Space cannot be changed in this way.
To make a change, first navigate to the Space of interest. Then choose the appropriate option from the gear icon in the upper right:
Use caution when deleting a Space. In a single action you can delete all of a Space's content, which could in turn contain other Spaces. A Looker admin might be able to recover the content of a deleted Space, but the content will be returned to the personal Spaces of the users that created it, not back to the Space that was deleted.
Copying and Moving Looks and Dashboards
If you have the Manage Access, Edit access level for a Space, its Looks and dashboards can be copied or moved to another Space. To do so, follow these steps:
- Check the box to the left of the item or items you want to change.
- Buttons will appear above the list of dashboards or Looks. Click Copy or Move.
- On the left side, click the name of a top-level Space to navigate to it.
- On the right side, click the name of a subspace to use that subspace, or to navigate to a subordinate subspace. If there are many subspaces, you can type the subspace name into Search this Space to have the list filtered to just that subspace.
- When you have navigated to the Space where you want to copy or move the items, click OK.
Looks and User-defined Dashboards can be saved into Spaces, as well as bulk copied or moved between Spaces. Any LookML dashboards reside only in the LookML Dashboards Space and cannot be saved into different Spaces.
Deleting and Renaming Looks and Dashboards
If you have the Manage Access, Edit access level for a Space, you can also delete or rename its Looks and dashboards. To do so, first check the box to the left of the items you want to delete or rename. Then, choose from the buttons that appear above the list of dashboards or Looks:
If you accidentally delete a piece of content a Looker admin might be able to recover it for you, so long as your Looker admin team has not already emptied Looker's trash as part of their maintenance process.
Spaces enable you to organize your Looks and dashboards into logical buckets. This can be helpful when organizing the most relevant information for different segments of the organization.